Self-cleaning litter boxes compared: 15 models
Specs as of 1 Nov 2026 (newest check) · 15 models · every model lists its sources and its own as-of date
How to use this comparison
Start with your heaviest cat and the litter you use, then compare two to four boxes. Drawer days are the maker’s one-cat figure; set your number of cats and we divide it for you.
As an Amazon Associate BowlScout earns from qualifying purchases. BowlScout may also earn commissions from other retailers, at no additional cost to you. Affiliate links never decide badges, order or findings. Affiliate policy.

| Model | Mechanism | Litter | Cat weight | Cats stated | Drawer, one cat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whisker Litter-Robot 4 Guide | Rotating globe | Clumping | 3–25 lb | Up to 4 | Up to 8 days |
| Neakasa M1 Plus Guide | Open-top sifter | Clumping | 2.2–33 lb | Multi-cat, no number | Up to 14 days |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart Guide | Raking tray | Crystal | Not published | "Single or multi-cat households" | Not stated |
| CatGenie A.I. Guide | Water-connected washer | Washable granules | Check | Not stated | Not stated |
| PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin (PAL00-17985) Guide | Rotating globe | Clumping | Not published | Not stated | Not stated |
| Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too Guide | Rotating globe | Clumping | Up to 20 lb | Not stated | Not stated |
| Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Guide | Rotating globe | Clumping | 3–30 lb | Up to 5 | Up to 10 days |
| Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro Guide | Rotating globe | Clumping | 3–30 lb | Up to 5 | Up to 10 days |
| PETKIT PuraMax 2 Guide | Sifting cylinder | Clumping, Tofu | 3.3–22 lb | Multi-cat comfort claimed, no number | Up to 15 days |
| PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 Guide | Sifting cylinder | Clumping, Tofu | 3.3–22 lb | Up to 15 | Up to 17 days |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro (hooded, PAL00-18017) Guide | Raking tray | Crystal | Not published | "Single or multi-cat households" | Up to 30 days |
| MeoWant MW-SC09 (Plus) | Rotating drum (open design) | Clumping | 3.3–30 lb | Multi-cat, no number; app usage data for 30+ cats after an app upgrade | Not stated |
| MeoWant MW-SC10 | Open-top self-cleaning (72 L) | Not stated | Not published | Drawer days vary with the number of cats | Not stated |
| MeoWant MW-SC01 | Self-cleaning (type not stated) | Not stated | Up to 18 lb | App tracks up to 6 cats | Not stated |
| MeoWant MW-SC03 (open top) | Open-top dual-rake | Clumping | Not published | Not stated | Not stated |
Tools and guides that fit
- Litter Box Fit CheckWhich boxes suit your cats and your litter
- Multiple catsDrawer days and cat limits for 2–4 cats
- Large catsEntry height and weight limits
- Litter-Robot 4 vs ScoopFree vs Neakasa M1Three popular boxes in one guide
